Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

The Four Stages of Kata (video)

In this video I quickly discuss the 4 Stages of Kata. These stages are:

1 – Learning, training and refining the solo form.

2 – Training the bunkai (applications).

3 – Exploring the principles demonstrated by the bunkai so we can adapt and vary (i.e. internalise sound combative habits).

4 – Gain live experience of freely employing the methods and principles of kata.

It is when all four stages are correctly practised and integrated that the purpose and value of kata can become fully realised.

To fully understand this model, you need to experience the process first-hand. I nevertheless hope this brief overview is of value.

All the best,


PS The YouTube link can be found HERE

Iain Abernethy on The Four Stages of Kata